Compassion, Passion and Knowledge

To start off Summer vacation, I am reading @casas_jimmy‘s book, Culturize, and came across a story from @NicholasFerroni:

“Teachers can’t replace parents, but so many students are saved by teachers who assume the role when there is a vacancy.  I honestly believe that the three most important characteristics of an amazing educator are compassion, passion, and knowledge.  In that exact order”

Compassion:  RELATIONSHIPS! RELATIONSHIPS! I wish I could hit the re-do button on the formative first years of my career – when I was all about my plan book and finishing the lesson no matter the circumstances.  I have witnessed what happens when a kid knows deep down a teacher cares – about them, not just about the grade.  The pressure of being a teacher and high-performance expectations can take a toll on the compassion needed for students.  I am fortunate to teach in a district that puts relationships FIRST.  I hope you do, also.  Get to know each kid and their story. Ask questions.  Listen to the answers.  Help when needed.  Taking this time out of your lesson will save time in the end – the buy-in from kids is crucial.

Passion: As teachers, we are actors on stage every minute – in the halls and in the classroom.  Kids need to know we love our jobs and what we are teaching.  If adults are excited and it shows, kids will wonder why and listen.  On good days, this is easy.  On days of emotional hardships, it is tough.  My students have saved me on a number of occasions, especially this past year.  Walk in that room, put on a smile and remember – this is what we were born to do.  Sure, the kids will think we are crazy sometimes.  Those are the lessons they will remember the most!

Knowledge: This is what caught my attention – the last few words of the quote above “In that exact order”.  Students need compassion and passion.  Content and knowledge can be taught.  The other two items are engrained (in my opinion) – either you have it or you don’t.  If knowledge was the most important quality of a teacher, then anyone could teach.  We know that isn’t the case.  Teachers need to have the compassion to reach the most reluctant student and the passion to make a lesson on the Unification of Germany feel like attending a rock concert (or NASCAR race).

How do you exhibit compassion, passion and knowledge in the classroom?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *