Models: Classroom Time Savers

“I have plenty of time for all my classroom ideas”…said NO teacher EVER! The reality is we never have enough time for every idea and strategy. Modeling is one way to save time, even though at the onset it appears to use MORE time!
In the beginning of my career, I didn’t model too many things. I assumed a lot and then spent a significant amount of my day frustrated the result was not what I envisioned. Kids were equally frustrated, I am sure.
If I could hit the re-do button, one of the first changes would be to model everything. It saves so much time! Yes, it appears to be an additional step in an already packed lesson, but it is just the opposite:
Modeling provides:
*A clear understanding of the task
*A chance for questions everyone can benefit from
*A “fallback” resource to double check during the activity
If you do not follow Cult of Pedagogy, you are missing out on great tips and strategies! In a recent blog post, Jennifer explains a modeling approach: I Do, We Do, You Do. My co-teacher and I use this method of modeling more than any other. One of us is usually at the SmartBoard explaining how to do the activity. Next, kids try it on their own (or in pairs). Last, the rest is independent work while we help around the room. We save time by ensuring students fully understand the task.

Student time is just as valuable as teacher time. Modeling is a respectful use of classroom minutes.

1 comment for “Models: Classroom Time Savers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *