What I learned this year

Today is my least favorite day of the school year – when I have to say goodbye to my kids.  We will still be in the same building next year to chat and say hello in the hallway, but it will never be the same.  All weekend, I was reflecting on the year while mentally preparing for this day.

  1. Relationships are important: It seems to be a buzzword lately, but every year I am in this business, I realize it more and more.  I would not be able to effectively execute my lessons without students knowing I care deeply for them.  Let’s face it, Italian and German Unification in the 1800s is a tough sell.  I need to have the kids in my corner on those days.  This will be an ongoing goal for me.
  2. Take risks with decisions: I am incredibly fortunate to have a solid support system from building and district administration as Social Studies Lead Teacher.  I need to step out on my own more and confidently make decisions for the department.  I made more conscious efforts in this area recently and it will be a goal for next year.
  3. Don’t worry if people think I am crazy: I get excited about ideas.  Very excited.  I love to forward articles, ideas, and strategies to peers. I love to experiment in the classroom.  I see ideas on Twitter and just know it has to happen at CCSD.  The support I have in the district allows this to happen, and I am grateful.  Not everyone will be on board, and that is OK. Lesson learned.  I will still be excited to try it.  Very excited.  More crazy ideas will be in the works for 2018-2019.  Be forewarned!

This was easily the most stressful year in my career, both personally and professionally.  I walked to the parking lot today grateful for the experience, support, and friendship of my peers.  I look forward to 2018-2019!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *