What is the Social Studies Framework?

If you google the phrase “Common Core”, a list of opinions varying from incredibly positive to the worst educational decision ever will fill your screen.  I won’t get into that debate at all – many others before me and after can hash that out.  This blog entry continues our journey shifting to the Common Core Framework.

Phase #1 – Accept: The year was 1996: Dale Jarrett won the Daytona 500, the New York Yankees were World Series champs and NYSED revamped Social Studies Curriculum for classrooms across the State. Catch phrases were DBQ’s and Thematic Essays.  Social Studies instruction stayed essentially the same for the next 18 years, until 2014 when the term Common Core was associated with Social Studies.  Drafts of the Framework were distributed, feedback was requested from teachers and edits made to create the final product.  Note: Whenever we (teachers, admin) are asked to provide feedback on initiatives – do it! It is vital our voices are heard.   The Framework, like Regents Exams, is written by teachers.  I have faith in my colleagues across the State to make solid decisions with kids in mind.

Wrap Up: The big take away for me as Lead Teacher: Time is key – teams cannot move forward without a level of comfort.  That cannot be forced – no matter how enthusiastic I think I am.  A mentor and friend I am lucky to have in my corner frequently reminds me it is natural to question change.  It is a step in the long process of acceptance.

The Common Core Framework (the “what”) was now a reality at CCSD.  Next, we had to make instructional changes (the “how”) in the classroom.  Stay tuned!

Kris

 

 

 

 

 

1 comment for “What is the Social Studies Framework?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *