Lessons for 2019

A year ago last week my Grandmother died.  She was 96 years old and healthy up to a few weeks before her passing.  It was a complete shock to me at the time.  I know, it shouldn’t have been.  I was lucky to have a reliable, confident, spunky lady in my life for 45 years.  This past year has been pretty tough mentally and physically for me.  Thankfully I have a couple of people in my corner who helped me through the dark times.  Going forward to 2019, I will take three lessons from Grandma and be the best person I can be:

Lesson #1 Work hard:  Grandma worked by my Grandfather’s side on the farm up until 1997, well past standard retirement age (farmers never retire, really).  She plowed fields, bailed straw, filled grain bins and bossed Grandpa around assisted in equipment repair.  All hands on deck with that little lady.  I know my work ethic stems from farmers on both sides of my family.  I am proud of that.  I will continue to make her proud in 2019 with my goals to finish Admin classes, help teachers and guide students.

Lesson #2 Be present in the moment: One of the first questions Grandma would ask me on the phone or when I visited was “how do the fields look out your way?”  Truth be told (do people in Heaven read blogs? I hope not), I never really paid attention to fields. I would vaguely answer, and we would move on.  When Grandma was traveling with me, she would be so fascinated by fields, barns, and animals along the way.  I ignore so much around me.  I hope to be more present in 2019 with friends, family, colleagues and my beloved students.

Lesson #3 What will be…will be: Perhaps it is a farmer’s motto – you can work so incredibly hard and yet at the end of the season, have little to nothing.  That is not the time to quit, though.  I witnessed that many times over the years.  Bad years are not the end – just a time for reflection.  2018 was a time for reflection for me.  Very dark times.  2019 will be a year of accepting what happens, know I did my best and move on.

I miss you, Grandma.  I got this, though.  Don’t drive Grandpa too crazy in Heaven.  And remember, your glasses are almost always on top of your head, silly lady.

Grandma’s 95th birthday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *