Genetics, Circumstances and Intentional Actions

I started a book study (The Burnout Cure by Chase Mielke) this week with 30 other educators around the region and our focus was on how much of our happiness is based on (1) Genetics; (2) Circumstances; and (3) Intentional actions – with percentages provided for the categories.  This is how it looks for me:

Genetics (50%): Pretty positive there – until my brothers and I broke the trend, everyone was a farmer on both sides of my family.  Easy-going bunch of hard-working people. Genetics for happiness (and height) are in my favor.

Circumstances(10%): Life, especially now, is super hard. I was in tears two weeks ago because I was overwhelmed with work duties. It happens. The key is to reflect and jump back in.

Intentional Actions (40%): I can’t do too much about my circumstances with the pandemic.  So, it is all in how I react.  Easier said than done.

What should the focus be for change? Intentional Actions – the 40%.  Our book would agree with this.  Is this superficial “fluff”? No.  It is reality.  If I focus only on current circumstances, I will be in a rough place.  I need to be intentional about how I react and carry myself.  Chapter 22 in Jon Gordan’s Energy Bus is titled “Better Today Than Yesterday”.  It is that hope that drives happiness.

Think about how you will focus your 40% – what does that look like each day?

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *