Distressed students deserve respect

As students and teachers are returning to in-person learning 5 days a week, it is clear the past 18 months have left an enduring impact on the souls of kids and adults.  Emotional needs are higher than ever as teachers balance those concerns in addition to instructional goals.  Andrew Gutmann and Christie Badry recently published an article for ASCD titled Step by Step/6 Steps to…Help a Distressed Student Get to the Upstairs Brain.

My experience with students who are escalated is to provide respect, time, and space for the processing of emotions. While this sounds like a solid formula, every situation is different.  My goal is for students to truly know I am listening, I want to help, and I am not walking away.  Badry and Gutmann discuss 6 steps to help kids:

  1. Scan for safety: In some situations, part of the deescalating process is to ensure the student is safe as well as those around them.  I have cleared classrooms as the first step in the process.  Clearing the area or getting the student to an isolated area is important.
  2. Stay calm: The student is already elevated.  As an adult, I need to show a controlled, caring response.
  3. Talk very little: Listen, Listen, Listen.
  4. Offer food: I have solved some issues with one diet Pepsi.  It mentally disarms students and opens conversations.
  5. Provide something to tinker with: One student who was regularly volatile would come into my office to vent.  I tried to always have something for him – even if it was fixing a stapler.
  6. Don’t Rush: The student feels no one is listening.  Don’t add to the list.  Provide time and respect to the needs of the student.

I remind myself constantly in these moments- kids are learning how to process their discontent/upset feelings.  We need to be a safe zone for students to share and heal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *